Home » How to learn » The Best Creator Driven Comic Book Runs

The Best Creator Driven Comic Book Runs

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,328 other followers

I have mentioned to students over the years how I was a comic book reader in my youth.  I’ve always stressed reading anything to my students – I am quick to mention that I read comic books and Sports Illustrated maniacally as a young person.  What I noticed starting around the age of 13 was that I became more interested in who was writing and drawing the comics than the characters themselves.  If John Byrne left Alpha Flight and went to write and draw the Hulk – I went with him, even though I didn’t collect the Hulk regularly. 

These runs are what I feel are the best long term tenures on various books.  They are by the creators / artists I feel created the best work and stayed on to come up with a timeless body of work that will be a standard bearer for future artists and writers.  I limit the list to post 1980, simply because that is the era where I am an expert.  I realize there are others that should be on the list, but I was a Marvel / DC person for most of those years, so something like Dave Sim’s Cerebus is not on the list, as I read one issue of it as a young person and didn’t like it too much.  Maybe I missed out on something but I can’t comment on it with any authority.

The list:

  • John Byrne on Fantastic Four
  • Frank Miller on Daredevil
  • Alan Moore on Swamp Thing
  • Marv Wolfman and George Perez on The New Teen Titans
  • Walt Simonson on Thor
  • Chris Claremont on The Uncanny X-Men
  • Peter David on Peter Parker the Spectacular Spider Man
Leave a Reply

