Home » How to learn » The Beginning of The End?

The Beginning of The End?

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,328 other followers

There was an event today that is worth notice.  The Ron Paul Curriculum came out this morning.  It is a  K – 12 program that is geared for independent thinking young people.  The initial sales pitch is toward the homeschooling community, but it will eventually spread.  When parents see what the children following this program are getting for their money, they’ll re-think their huge taxpayer expense for the local public school.  Here is the part that is the lynchpin: the primary school grades are FREE.  K – 5th grades are there for a cost of $0.00.

The business model is one that makes sense.  The product that they offer is of the kind of quality that the parents will follow a successful free model up to the fifth grade.  The RPC people are confident that the parents will be happy enough to the point that after that, the curriculum will cost about $500 – $650 per year.  The intellectual powerhouses running the show will provide the ‘hook’ and then parents will be glad to pay for high quality education.  In case you are thinking that $650 is too much for a year, the least expensive private school around here is $4000 per year.  In case you think that your local public school is ‘free’, it costs you, at minimum, $10,000 per year per pupil to support that system.

This could be the beginning of the end for compulsory tax payer funded public school.  What are you getting for your 10 grand?  If you’re in a good neighborhood, you’re getting great facilities, solid teachers, horrid textbooks, peer pressure and government indoctrination.  If you’re in a bad area, take any two or more of the above traits and make them negative, and add fighting, drugs and fornication.  Is that a good return on investment?

The end might be here.  Once people see how wonderful, independent, thoughtful, free market education can work, they might realize that the whole paradigm can operate in the same way.  Education does not, and should not be expensive.  For millennia there was no forced schooling.  It is a recent development, and it was not started for altruistic motives.  People can learn in a myriad of ways, often moving faster when they are at their own pace, exploring things that are in their interest.  Being in various rooms, confined with students of like age, in 40 minute blocks simply cannot be a one size fits all approach.  I think this might cause a sea change

3 Comments

  1. jwdwrites says:

    Hi, I found your blog when browsing through the reader. I find this a particularly interesting post as my wife and I are considering homeschooling our youngest child, Rafael, who is currently in his kindergarten year. I will certainly take a look at this site, I agree with pretty much everything that you have said in the post about the school system, my only concern being that I have known a number of home schooled children who are all extremely nice, and I sometimes think that school can be at least a preparation for the jungle that is the wider world.

    I have witnessed my two older children, both of whom are fortunate enough to be very bright, treading water for years in primary school, while the other children caught up with them, rather than be given the material that their hungry minds demanded.

    I kept both of them off school for two weeks to tutor them prior to sitting the Grammar School entrance exam called the 11+. On return to her school my daughter sat a maths test and her teacher told me afterwards that she was astonished that my daughter had risen 2 academic years in maths in less than a month! They both achieved entry to the English Grammar School system where they are receiving the best formal education available locally, but I often think about what they might have achieved with a home education.

    Like

    • marolla says:

      I’m glad you found the post interesting. It’s interesting because I work as an English teacher and every year I have at least one mother pulls her child (usually a daughter) out of the school system each year. I mention homeschooling with the parents whom I have a good relationship, and none of them look at me as if I’m crazy. That would not have been the case a few years ago.

      I understand the idea that school might be a way to prep for the ‘jungle’ out there, or for some social preparation for the Real World. Possibly, but being age grouped isn’t much preparation as school is the only place that one is put in such a scenario. Also, if I were homeschooling my youngest, I could take the train down to midtown Manhattan to the Science, Business and Industry Library on 34th st. and Madison ave, and that trip I think would be a better prep for the ‘jungle’ out there – think of all the exposure to the hustle and bustle of real people doing real things.

      I recommend John Taylor Gatto’s work. There is a youtube video called ‘The Ultimate History Lesson’ that I think is worth your time. There are 5 videos in total and they are all quite interesting.

      If I could afford to homeschool my littlest, I would. As it stands, with this curriculum out I’ll see if it’s viable for her at least after primary school or middle school. The Robinson Curriculum is good as well. Art Robinson is a top scientist, and I think it is math / science heavy. It gets good reviews.

      Thank you for your thoughtful comment.

      Like

  2. jwdwrites says:

    Hi, I have watched the first one and enjoyed it, I will watch the others when I can. Thanks for the detailed reply. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

